Writers and Illustrators of the Future Fete Tonight

All of the judges, that’s more than 20 internationally acclaimed writers and artists, will be on hand 15 May, 2011 to celebrate the winners of the 2011 Writers and Illustrators of the Future contests.

The event will be streamed live on the internet from the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel beginning with pre-event festivities at 6 p.m. (Pacific). The awards ceremony itself will kick off at 6:30 p.m. (Pacific)

Dr. Pete Worden, Director of the NASA Ames Research Center and an advisor to the Space and Physical Sciences Track of Singularity University is the keynote speaker for the evening. The relationship between science fiction and science fact, as well as the role science fiction plays in providing direction to the future is only a part of what Dr. Worden will discuss.

Also scheduled to be on hand to present awards to the 12 writer and 12 illustrator winners are:


  • Kevin J. Anderson – Author of 46 bestsellers and contributor to numerous popular anthologies including Blood Lite with Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kennison.
  • Doug Beason
  • Gregory Benford
  • Eric Flint
  • Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  • Dr. Yoji Kondo
  • Rebecca Moesta
  • Larry Niven
  • Jerry Pournelle
  • Tom Powers
  • Mike Resnick
  • Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • Robert J. Sawyer
  • K.D. Wentworth
  • Dave Wolverton


  • Robert Castillo
  • Vincente Di Fate
  • Dave Dorman
  • Stephen Hickman
  • Cliff Nielsen
  • Ron Lindahn and Val Lackey Lindahn

Every quarter three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio and TV interviews organized by the contest administrators to assist winners with launching their careers.

Video from the 2010 event…