Preternatural scores for Richard Kirk Award Winner David Arnold

BMI Richard Kirk Award Presentation
BMI President & CEO Del Bryant, Richard Kirk Award Recipient David Arnold and BMI Vice President of Film/TV Relations Doreen Ringer Ross at the 2011 BMI Film and TV Awards

Composer David Arnold was honored with the Richard Kirk Award at the Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) gala on 18 May, 2011. The Richard Kirk Award is given to composers who have made significant contributions in the realm of film and television music.

During his successful career, Arnold has composes scores for a number of preternatural films including: Stargate, Godzilla, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Day Treader and the Grammy-winning Independence Day. He also composed scores for several films in the James Bond franchise and Zoolander, as well as the BBC series Sherlock and Little Britain.

Rachel Portman, Alan Silvestri, David Newman Christopher Young, Thomas Newman, George S. Clifton , Harry Gregson-Williams, Michael Kamen, Mark Mothersbaugh, Jerry Goldsmith, Alan Menken, Lalo Schifin, Charles Fox, Danny Elfman, John Barry, Charles Fox and John Williams are among the previous recipients of the Richard Kirk Award.

Wednesday’s invitation only event was held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles. The annual Film/TV Awards gala was hosted by BMI President and CEO Del Bryant and Doreen Ringer Ross, Vice President, Film/TV Relations. The presentation of the Richard Kirk Award to David Arnold was among the highlights of the event.

Tagged with: