Review: The Devil’s Revolver

Literary alchemy

Girls with magic guns seem to be a thing these days (can you say Wynonna Earp?). Fortunately, The Devil’s Revolver by V.S. McGrath is one of the better takes on the theme.

Part Western and part fantasy, The Devil’s Revolver launches a new YA series following the adventures of 17-year-old Hettie Alabama. In this book, Hettie sets out to rescue her little sister, Abby (Hunger Games, anyone?). The world is cleverly drawn and believable, even enticing if you like horses, trains and dusty, desolate scenery, which I do. Lace those with magic, ghosts, and shape-shifters, and you have the start of something really intriguing. If the book has a flaw, it’s that it leaves some obvious unanswered questions, a common mistake among first books intended as part of a series but not an insurmountable one. Readers are left wanting more, or at least to find out what happens after Hettie and her gang ride off into the sunset. Somehow, I doubt everything is going to be rosy.

Recommended for fans of The Hunger Games and Wynonna Earp.